Review: The Midnight Library

Image of The Midnight Library cover by Matt Haig

Thought provoking, yet light-hearted easy read.

First book of 2022 already done! Click here to see my 2022 list. I kept it on the lighter side, since I have set a lot of other goals to accomplish as well with regards to knitting and sewing. So here are my thoughts:

Do you spend much time thinking about all of the decisions you have made about life and how they have brought you to the point you are at in life? This book investigates the power of our choices and the impact they have on our lives, no matter how insignificant they may seem. We follow the main character through her past life choices/regrets as she examines the impact or outcome they might have on her life.

The first few chapters definitely had me on my toes trying to figure out the aim of the author in telling this story. Once the story begins to unfold, I couldn’t put it down! An easy story to fall into, I found myself playing out the scenes in my head and really thinking, for the first time probably, about all the seemingly inconsequential decisions we make throughout our life.

I must say, I didn’t LOVE the ending, but understand why the story unfolded the way it did. That being said, the end left room for the imagination, which I can appreciate.

Overall, this was a great light-ish read and I actually made it through within the week. So I would classify it as a thought-provoking, yet light-hearted and easy read.

4/5 Bookmarks on this one!

-e.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.